WELCOMING FULL MOON WITH FLUTE ON PINNACLE PEAK

Pinnacle Peak 10-18-13

After I finished my Mozart Flute Concerto recording, I felt like doing something this afternoon I have never done before to welcome and honor the Full Moon and the simultaneous Lunar Eclipse. So I hopped on my mountain bike and headed up toward Pinnacle Peak, a natural mountain cathedral spire between Scottsdale and Carefree.

Untitled_Panorama1

That’s about a 7-8 mile unrelenting climb up the mountain over an elevation difference of about 900 feet. It may not sound like much for a Tour de France biker, but it was a big challenge for me.

And that’s just to get to the trailhead. I hiked from there on foot to just under Pinnacle Peak.  Which is another 300-400 ft vertical climb over a well marked and trodden trail. Once I got to the saddle where Owl’s Rest point is marked (above), I went off the trail into the wilderness to find shelter behind some huge boulders that looked like giant kitchen mitts. I used them for shelter against the wind while I played El Condor Pasa and Amazing Grace on my flute. That’s the music I dedicated to the Spirit and to Mama Quilla (Mother Moon in Quechua, the Inca language)).

It is from this spot that the first photo was taken – the one that shows the exact coordinates and the elevation.

It was interesting to see again how other hikers all around on the trail stop to listen to the music. They could not see me. So they must have thought the Pinnacle Peak Apu (mountain spirit) was playing the flute to them. 🙂 Which is great.

The round trip took about three hours. I treated myself to a Starbucks frappuccino at the end.

And now, here are some shots of the Full Moon as seen this evening from Eagle’s Nest as the Moon was rising over the eastern horizon. Notice a glow around it which looked almost like that Aquarius rainbow full moon I saw back in Maui on Aug 20 (the bottom row).

IMG_2667 IMG_2669IMG_2674 IMG_2671

 

IMG_2440 IMG_2438

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

Leave a Reply

