PERTH: BUSTED! “THE MOST REMOTE CITY IN THE WORLD” LOSES ITS ANONYMITY

MH 370 debris spotted 3-26-14PERTH: BUSTED!

“The most remote city in the world” loses its anonymity; Search for flight MH370 remains puts Perth puts in on global map

I first visited Perth, Western Australia, in 1985. I was on a (business) speaking tour of Australia and Singapore. That’s when I learned that this was supposedly “the most remote city in the world.”

About 19 years ago, shortly after I had penned the piece “When Us-ethnCultures Collide…,” which was later published by the Washington Times. I set out to find an ideal spot on this planet where my children and grandchildren could live in peace, in case the U.S. had a violent break up, the way Bosnia was did in the early 1990s.

After much research and several trips around the world, I eventually settled on southwest Australia. In 1996, I bought beautiful property about three hours south of Perth on a peninsula between Dunsborough and Yallingup (Naturaliste, named after the French ship that discovered it in 1800 ). I designed the house in the Australian bush-style with my own hands, and then turned it over to a local architect to do the engineering specs.

1001216_165056633682294_383615846_n1070103_165053463682611_1082891015_n

With a help of a friend from Sydney, who was the first guest at the house when it was finished in 1998, I named this magical place “The Bolt Hole.” Because it was our hideaway from the world.

But my children never took to it. Even for them, it was too remote. So it 2005, I sold the place. It broke my heart to do it. But I had to keep reminding myself that the Bolt Hole was never meant for myself. I did not expect to see the US break up in my lifetime.

Now I am not so sure anymore…

Perth WA

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

Leave a Reply

