HOW SPIRIT SPUN ME OFF MY BIKE ON GOOD FRIDAY FOR MY OWN GOOD

IMG_3066                     my iPhone screen

Protection from Ourselves

It never ceases to amaze me how loving and subtle our Spirit guides are. And how they work all the time to protect us, sometimes from ourselves.

What happened today is another case in point. First, my Spirit guides and I connected through music this morning (see A Good Friday Out-of-Body Experience). Then around noon, we did it again – in the dirt of Pima Road. Literally.

Here’s a story of what happened…

Bike Spin & Crash: Gentle Warning

Today being Good Friday, I thought I would go on an especially tough bike-hike-bike pilgrimage, something I have never done before. So I decided to try to bike 11 miles uphill to Tom’s Thumb trailhead in the McDowell Mountains, and then hike the trail up to the 3,900 peak.

IMG_0793 IMG_0776

Which would make it a 1,000-foot vertical climb by bike, and another 1,100 feet on foot.  I have done the hike-portion once before, and it was tough (CLIMBING UP TO TOM’S THUMB, 11-21-13). But I have never attempted both in one day.

IMG_2999

So I put on my desert camo clothes and sunscreen, jumped on my new Diamondback bike and headed up the hill on Pima Road.

I did not get very far, maybe a little over a mile before my bike tires spun on some sandy soil as I was making a sharp turn. I barely managed to keep my balance and stay on the bike. But as I overcorrected to the left to compensate for the spin, my arm and the left handlebar hit a sign marking the bike path.

Screen Shot 2013-11-21 at 3.30.01 PM

This time, I did crash. But it was a gentle, almost slow-motion fall.  Neither the bike nor myself were harmed.

As soon as I realized that, my next thought was – “this is a warning… maybe I am not supposed to go on that bike ride today.”

So I turned around and decided to go back home.  I knew from past experiences that I must trust my intuitions. For, that’s how our Spirit guides guide us.  And they always know what they are doing and why even if we are not aware.

Storm Warning

As I turned around, I thought my rear tire was riding low. It was not flat. But it might have lost its air on the way up to Tom’s Thumb.

I smiled. “Thank you,” I said in the heavenly direction.

As if that weren’t protection enough, I noticed dark clouds moving in our direction from the south. The wind was starting to pick up. I even felt a few rain drops… something that’s pretty rare for Phoenix-Scottsdale area at this time of year.IMG_3066

By the time I made it home, I got this warning on my iPhone (right):

“Dust storm warning in this area till 5 PM MST. Avoid travel. Check local media. NWS” (National Weather Service)

The message was repeated about five or six times. So the weather service meant business.  And so did my Spirit guides.

By the time I made it home, the few drops had turned into gentle rain. It did not last. But it did serve its purpose – warning me against an unwise adventure today. So I thanked the Spirit again.

And that’s my second Good Friday story.

PS: What happened today reminded me of a similar experience in Peru in Dec 2012. That when the Spirit also turned me around and rerouted us from Quillabamba and the Ayahuasca to Machu Picchu and the fresh mountain air.

just like with my aborted bike ride today, my Spirit guides intervened and rerouted us to Machu Picchu. I have a feeling you will find this an interesting story –
Turning the clock back 500 years was easier than coming back from the past; Spirit lays roadblocks and detours enroute to Quillabamba-Santa Teresa (2nd Spirit message, Dec 16, 2012)

One Reply to “HOW SPIRIT SPUN ME OFF MY BIKE ON GOOD FRIDAY FOR MY OWN GOOD”

Leave a Reply

