SEGOVIA: THE SCHERZO OF OUR DIVINE SPANISH SYMPHONY

Bob Eliz Segovia 5-23-14

Segovia was our third stop on that magical day, Friday, May 23. Today, June 17, I also realized that it was a Scherzo, the third movement, of our “Divine Spanish Symphony ” which our Spirit guides orchestrated for us (see the map – right – and the NOTE at the end of this story).Spanish Symphony Day 5-23-14

Why magical? That was yet to be revealed to us as we entered Segovia. We did not realize that until the sunset that evening, as the Grand Finale of our Spanish Symphony unfolded at El Escorial, the Royal Palace and a Monastery built between 1567 and 1584 by Phillip II, one of my past incarnations.

IMG_1788

I also did not realize until today (June 17),  that the entire Friday May 23 had been orchestrated by our Spirit guides in the form of a Divine Symphony. Salamanca, the university city, was the opening Allegro movement. Avila, the walled city of stones and angels, was the Adagio, a slow and flowing movement.

IMG_3537

Segovia was the Scherzo, the quickening rhythm and that built up to a grand finale, the fourth movement, an Allegro, as we crossed the snow-capped Guadarrama Mountains and reached El Escorial.

I can literally hear the music as I am writing this. And I can tell you that our Divine Spanish Symphony comprises of the the elements of Concierto de Aranjuez, which we have already heard on this trip in Barcelona. I will have to remake it as I am now hearing it

(taking a half-day break before continuing this story}

So here now that new music video – Divine Spanish Symphony – which includes my recording made in Nov 2013 and some film clips with Spanish motifs.

* * *

SEGOVIA: CITY OF VICTORY

But let us now return to May 23 and the “Scherzo” movement of our Divine Spanish symphony – Segovia.

Segovia_-_01 1280px-Alcázar_de_Segovia_1-7-07

Did you know that the city was actually founded by Celtic settlers?  I did not until I did some research about our trip.  That was many centuries before Christ.  The settlement was called Segobriga back then. The term Sego means «victory» in Celtic languages. The suffix -briga would mean «city» or «strength». So Segovia’s name might be translated as “City of the victory” or “Victorious city”.

   IMG_3499 IMG_3495 IMG_3498 Segovia Castle Segovia cathedral 3 IMG_4329

We did not feel particularly victorious when we arrived in Segovia from Avila around noon on May 23. Except perhaps when we found a parking and then walked up the steep hill to the top where the Segovia cathedral and the city center are.

 IMG_3509 IMG_3508 IMG_3507IMG_3513  IMG_3515 IMG_3514

The next famous Segovia sight was the Roman-era aqueduct. Despite its size, we had trouble finding it.  Because it is not engulfed by a maze of narrow streets. Eventually, however, we did. And that’s where we took all these fascinating pictures.

IMG_3521 IMG_3522 IMG_3523  IMG_3528 Segovia aquaduct 1 IMG_3531 IMG_3532 IMG_3536 IMG_3535

On our way down back to the car, we caught some beautiful views of the snowy Guadarrama mountains in the distance. That was our next destination. We were to drive over one of those mountain passes to get to El Escorial.

Segovia Guadarrama mountains IMG_3516 IMG_3537

ORIGINAL CONCIERTO DE ARANJUEZ VIDEO

And now, here’s the original recording of Concierto de Aranji=uze, made on my Arizona Clavinova in Nov 2013…

Having just watched this video again for the first time since Nov 2013, I was amazed to see that the film clips I used it actually depict many of the sights Elizabeth and I had visited on our Tour of Spain. Keep in mind, that the idea about this trip had not come to me until late January 2014.

So two months earlier, our Spirit guides were already priming us for it. Amazing how both subtle and clever they are…

Now I understand why that piece first came to me in March 2009, while I was still in Arizona, just before moving to Maui. It was a five-year prelude to this Tour of Spain, and to the magic of May 23, our grand finale before entering Madrid (see “Concierto de Aranjuez” in Bob Djurdjevic’s Piano interpretation, Full Version, Mar 10, 2009).

Segovia aquaduct 1

 

 

NOTE: SYMPHONIC FORMS

1. Allegro (An opening sonata or allegro)
2. Andante or Adagio (A slow movement, such as adagio)
3. Menuetto or Scherzo (A minuet or scherzo with trio)
4. Allegro (grand finale – an allegro, rondo, or sonata)

Gospel, John 15:12-17

12 This is my commandment: love one another, as I have loved you.

13 No one can have greater love than to lay down his life for his friends.

14 You are my friends, if you do what I command you.

15 I shall no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know the master’s business; I call you friends, because I have made known to you everything I have learnt from my Father.

16 You did not choose me, no, I chose you; and I commissioned you to go out and to bear fruit, fruit thatwill last; so that the Father will give you anything you ask him in my name.

17 My command to you is to love one another.

 

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

1 thought on “SEGOVIA: THE SCHERZO OF OUR DIVINE SPANISH SYMPHONY”

Leave a Reply

