FROM OUR SPANISH TRIP DIARY: PASSING THROUGH ORGAZM

 orgasmFROM OUR SPANISH TRIP DIARY: PASSING THROUGH ORGAZM -“It was over all too quickly”

Humor is an essential part of any trip.  It is the silver lining of troublesome situations. It is the fuel for long drives. Without it, every trip, Spain 2014 mapespecially one as long and hectic as our Tour of Spain (18 cities in 7 days), would become a drag.

Case in point…

By the time Elizabeth and I left Toledo on May 25, heading south toward Don Quixote’s windmills in Consuegra, we had been on the road for five days.  It was the middle of the afternoon (3:40 PM), low sugar time, time of day when one’s eyelids start to feel heavy even on shorter drives.

Elizabeth was dozing on and off. I was struggling with my eyelids. Suddenly, a road sign provided instant relief.

“ORGAZM,” I said out loud.  IMG_3737

My voice startled Elizabeth.

“What? What did you say?” she asked sleepily.

“We have just entered ORGAZM.”

Of course, Elizabeth didn’t get it at first. Who would? Especially half asleep.

“Let’s see what a Spanish ORGAZM feels like,” I continued my ruse.IMG_3735

I snapped a picture as we passed through the center of this tiny town.

By this stage, Elizabeth was awake enough to start to appreciate the humor in the La Mancha town’s name.

And then, suddenly, ORGAZM was over.  I snapped another picture.  IMG_3736

“Ah, that was all too quick,” I quipped tongue-in-cheek. “Not even five minutes.” 🙂

By this stage, Elizabeth was fully awake.

“Crazy guy,” she said, shaking her head while laughing.

“I must add an “M” to the name when I edit photos,” I said.

By now we were both wide awake and ready to take on the windmills of Consuegra.  🙂

And now I have (added the “M”). 🙂

IMG_3737 IMG_3735 IMG_3736

PS: So you think this whole thing was a spoof? Not entirely. Check out this map of Spain to see the actual location of this amazing town. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 5.01.34 PM orgasm

2 Replies to “FROM OUR SPANISH TRIP DIARY: PASSING THROUGH ORGAZM”

Leave a Reply

