TWENTY FOUR HOURS OF NATURAL WONDERS: FROM RAINBOW SUNSET TO SUNSET RAINBOW

DESERT SUNSET CAPTURED AT EXACT MOMENT OF SUNSET

September 26, 2014 – 6:16 PM

IMG_2299

DESERT SUNSET CAPTURED AT EXACT MOMENT

A storm is moving into the Valley of the Sun (Phoenix/Scottsdale) Screen Shot 2014-09-26 at 10.00.17 PMthis evening (see the weather map). I had one more errand to run. As I turned south on Hayden Rd in North Scottsdale, a voice in the back of my mind or soul said, “pull over!”

I did. And then I realized why my Spirit guides wanted me to do that. A beautiful sunset in the shape of a rainbow was taking place on the western horizon. While the storm clouds covered most of the rest of the sky, God had opened the window to the west so we can all marvel at this amazing sunset.

When I took these pictures, the same voice said, “this is the exact moment” (of the sunset). Several hours later, when I came home, I checked and compared the times of the official sunset and of this iPhone shot. The exact same time: 6:16PM.

Guess my Spirit guides know what they are doing… [not that I had any doubt about it] ūüôā

Enjoy!

IMG_2300

Here is now the same desert sunset shot color-enhanced to accentuate its rainbow effect.

Sunset 9-27-14 enhanced

 

September 27, 2014 Р1:50 PM 

HIKE & BIKE JUST BEFORE SECOND MONSOON WAVE
Beautiful sunset and my first-ever Arizona rainbow bracket two desert storms

When woke up this morning around 6 AM, the Eagle Nest patio was wet. Later, a friend told me she heard thunder and saw lightening around 5 AM.   So the first wave of the expected storm must have passed overnight. I heard and saw nothing, though.

By the time she and her husband and another friend from Maui met with me around 8 AM at the trailhead of the Pinnacle Peak trail, gorgeous sunshine and sparkling desert was the order of the day. Take a  look at these shots I took from the hike.

IMG_2302

IMG_2304 IMG_2306 hidden

I have blocked my friends’ faces to protect their privacy. Yet you can see the wonderful vista behind them toward northwest from about a 2,800 ft elevation.

Later in the morning, I went out for my usual bike ride. Just got back. Luck again. Looks like in the nick of time. There are dark and ominous clouds just to the west of Eagle’s Nest, our home in Arizona.

Take a look at this map of the second wave of the storm moving in as I write this…

Screen Shot 2014-09-27 at 1.50.09 PM  Screen Shot 2014-09-27 at 1.50.15 PM

 

September 27, 2014 ‚Äď 5:30¬†PM

TWO MONSOON STORMS BRING ON THUNDER, LIGHTNING AND DELUGE
But Also My First-Ever Arizona Rainbow After Over 30 Years in the Desert

The monsoon season is usually over in the Arizona desert by the end of August. So having a monsoon storm move in from the southwest, as this afternoon’s monsoon did, is a bit of a rarity.

Which is why I made this film to mark the occasion – set to my Carmina Burana music – both variation #1 (Yang-powerful) and #21 (Yin-gentle)…

* * *

Before I was even finished with the editing of the film, something made me go outside. Light rain was still falling. And then I realized why my Spirit guides wanted me stop doing what I was doing and go out.

High over the Eagle’s Nest, the name of our Arizona home, a big rainbow was smiling at me. ¬†It was the first-ever rainbow that I recall seeing in Arizona. Certainly the first one that I have ever photographed myself.¬†And that’s saying a lot. Because I have lived here in the Arizona desert for over three decades.

You’ll have to use your imagination to connect it in the middle where the clouds have broken it. But the two ends are clearly visible.

AZ rainbow 9-27-14

AZ rainbow2 9-27-14

I was as excited as a kid in a candy store when I saw this rainbow. We are blessed with tons of them at the Rainbow Shower, our Yin home in Maui. But to experience one in this Yang (desert) setting for the first time was something truly special.

Thank you, Spirit! It was a treat to see and behold.

So we started this storm with a beautiful sunset 24 hours ago, and are finishing it now again under the rainbow and the sun.

AZ Monsoon header 9-27-14

 

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

1 thought on “TWENTY FOUR HOURS OF NATURAL WONDERS: FROM RAINBOW SUNSET TO SUNSET RAINBOW”

Leave a Reply

