RETURN TO CALVARY HILL ARIZONA

Calvary Hill pano

Today is the New Moon day (Oct 23).  The exact time was 2:57 PM PDT.  That’s when I was doing a ceremony and playing my flute atop Calvary Hill Arizona.

I did not realize this “coincidence” until after I had returned from my first 2014 autumnal pilgrimage to Calvary Hill Arizona.  But it was probably the reason that I was guided to do it for the first time today.

I would have done it much sooner, of course. Probably right after we arrived here from Hawaii on Sept 18. Alas, a severe leg injury on our last day in Maui prevented me from doing it until now (see Bloody Farewell to Maui, Sept 19).

IMG_2282 Poseidon trident IMG_2466

Even now, five weeks later, my “trident” cut has not fully healed (right). But my leg was good enough for a 3.5-hour bike-hike-bike effort in 95F heat.

For those of you not familiar with my discovery of the Calvary Hill bob-bike-5-12-133AZ, check out my 2013 Desert Quest (PDF) and Calvary Hill Arizona-Sept 2013.

Here’s also a map of my today’s hike. I did the pilgrimage to the exact tunes of my Calvary Hill Podcast created about a year ago (click here or on above image to listen to it).

IMG_2464

When I finished my one-hourlong bike ride, and started the hike, the temperature was 95F.  It went up to 98F as I climbed the McDowell Mtns toward the Calvary Hill AZ. By the time I reached it and did a shamanic ceremony, the temperature had dropped to 91F. It went back up to 95F by the time I returned to my bike, two hours later.

There were some humorous scenes, too. Take a look at that picture on the left. It looks as if I am learning to fly. 🙂 That would be a dangerous way to ascend, considering all the thorns in the desert. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 5.32.04 PM IMG_2463 Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 5.34.07 PM

Back to the summit, sitting at the Calvary Hill and facing the west, I played “Amazing Grace” on my flute. When I returned to the main trail, a young woman asked me if that was me playing it. She seemed to be resting there and must have been listening to it.

I grunted “yep” affirmatively.

“That was great,” she said.

I thanked her and changed the subject. I was surprised that she heard it so well. I was at least 200 yards away and facing AWAY from her at the summit where I played the flute.  Guess sound carried very well in the mountains, even in the desert.

Here’s now a recording of Amazing Grace I made in Dec 2013 on a Clavinova using the Pan Flute and Chorus voices played over some beautiful desert scenes.

* * *

One Reply to “RETURN TO CALVARY HILL ARIZONA”

Leave a Reply

