A “REAL TEXAS BARBECUE” LUNCH MADE US SKIP BOTH BREAKFAST AND DINNER

IMG_2567

Elizabeth and I normally don’t eat lunch. Or, if on very rare occasions we do, then we skip breakfast. Today, however, we had the kind of a lunch that made us skip both breakfast and dinner. A first, for both of us… 🙂

What happened?

This morning, Elizabeth had to go to an appointment. It was all the way down in Gilbert. That’s about 30 miles south of Eagle’s Nest in North Scottsdale. To make the “out of town” trip worthwhile for me, she invited me to join her afterward for a real Texas barbecue – at Rudy’s Barbecue & Country Store in Chandler.  That’s another 16 miles farther south from Gilbert.

“Better be good,” I thought. “I am joining you against my better judgment,” I told her.

Well, it was worth it.  It was better than good. Which is why we are also skipping dinner tonight. 🙂

Elizabeth said she got to know this typical cowboy restaurant from the time she lived in San Antonio in the early 1970s. She is originally from Corpus Christi, but also spent some of her early years near the Alamo.  In other words, she know what “real Texas” really means. 🙂

ALTZAR’S DAY AS “COWBOY”

It was my first “real Texas barbecue” at Rudy’s.  So I felt I had to dress the part – as a cowboy. Besides, I’ve only worn my “new” cowboy boots twice in Maui and NEVER before today here in Arizona.

I told Elizabeth these boots are made for riding, not walking. The high heels made me feel as if I was wearing some stiletto shoes. Like a fashion model, I had to learn to walk all over again. 🙂

IMG_4312 IMG_2570

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

2 thoughts on “A “REAL TEXAS BARBECUE” LUNCH MADE US SKIP BOTH BREAKFAST AND DINNER”

  1. Well… Ya’ll need to come on over to the Coastal Bend In the deep south of Texas for some fresh Shrimp! Soon we will have the Rockin G ranch open with over an acre of land, so bring them boots and y’er hat.

    Brett & Rhonda

Leave a Reply

