CALVARY HILL HIKE, FIRST WINTER THUNDERSTORM

IMG_2574

I have lived in this beautiful Sonoran desert now for over three decades. And I have never ever seen a thunderstorm come to visit us here in Scottsdale in December, just before Christmas. probability_of_precipitation_at_some_point_in_the_day_in_december_percent_pctThere is only 1% chance of that happening based on historical weather records.

Yet that’s what happened late this afternoon.  I was returning home from my 2.5 hour-hike up and down Calvary Hill Arizona in the McDowell Mtns over Scottsdale, when I noticed ominously dark clouds approaching from the northwest.

IMG_2578 Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 4.00.01 PM IMG_2577

It was like a black wall of darkness was coming our way to turn off the sunlight which was still shining on me at the time. I thought we were going to get a tornado. Instead, I heard a thunderclap. And then another. And another…

When I came home, I looked up on the radar map and saw where the lightening strikes were hitting. It was a bit northeast of Eagle’s Nest.

unnamed IMG_2575 IMG_2576

An hour or so earlier, as I stood atop of Calvary Hill AZ, the sky to the west was quite clear.  So this storm front snuck in a hurry.  I was wondering what happened with those two women on horseback who were just heading up the mountain as I was descending. The horses can get quite spooked by lightening and thunder.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 4.35.28 PM IMG_2579 IMG_2580

Anyway, back home, I decided to go to the pool and warm up in the spa (Jacuzzi). Half way there, the skies opened up. It rained so hard that the downpour reminded me of our typical summer monsoon storms. Except that this rain was freezing cold. BRRRR… I could not wait to get into the spa.

Then the heavenly music started all over again.  It sounded as if thunder was rolling all around.

In the end, the storm also left in its wake a beautiful fiery sunset.

I shall remember this day – Dec 13, 2014 – the day of my first Arizona winter thunderstorm. Quite exciting and completely unexpected.

 

 

Leave a Reply

