AUSTRALIA, HERE WE COME!

RETURN TO MY FIRST YIN HOME – THE BOLT HOLE, DUNSBOROUGH, WESTERN AUSTRALIA

10505211_283023421885614_7235683236768123625_o

Feb 8 – AUSTRALIA, HERE WE COME!

Elizabeth and I are about to head on down to Australia. This is a heads-up for you because I am not sure how good or frequent our internet connection will be during the trip. Our US phones will NOT be working down there. I plan to get a new SIM card for my iPhone when we get to Perth. Will let you know that number once I find out myself.

As to the reason for the trip… some of you know that Australia was my second home for almost a decade (1996-2005). For nine years, I owned a beautiful 10-acre property which I named the Bolt Hole. You can see it at this Facebook page and also in this story about it – “Just Another Day in Paradise.”

spring_6 Photos4 BOLTHOLE  spring_5 Pictures12_22_04 008 roos-2

The property lay on a ridge between Dunsborough and Yallingup. I designed the house myself – in Aussie bush-style (see above pic).

10479682_283023788552244_4145874788341504626_o

I loved everything about the Bolt Hole and the Aussie Southwest. On one side of the ridge where the Bolt Hole was situated, we could see catch a sunrise over the Geographe Bay. On the other side, a sunset over the Indian Ocean. Every night and every morning we could watch a herd of kangaroos feeding on the field (paddock in Aussie speak) in front of our home.

Beautiful Magpie melodies served as our morning “alarms.” The “28’s” sang during the day. The Kookaburras entertained us in the afternoons and evenings. Being surrounded by Eucalyptus trees meant a wonderful aroma all day long, and especially after the rains. The air was so pure that we drank the rain water. Literally. And it tasted like spring water.

10550120_282358105285479_4106819450563686070_o

But as the name implies, for me, the Bolt Hole was most importantly a place to get away from the busy world in which I lived back then. It 10533745_282358155285474_1681274489803390652_nwas the first place I turned to, for example, to recuperate from my 18-hour workdays as a war correspondent during NATO’s war on Serbia. It was the last place to break my heart when I had to say goodbye to it 10 years ago, after selling it to a local farmer.

I did not realize it at the time, but the Bolt Hole was my first Yin home, just like the Rainbow Shower is today. It was not until 2013, however, that this revelation came to me.

OFF TO AUSTRALIA ON MONDAY

Anyway, the short of this long story is that on Monday, Feb 9, Elizabeth and I are off to Australia. I feel I have now served my 10-year abstinence sentence and can return to it safely, without undue emotional upheaval. Except for the feelings of joy to be back.

For Elizabeth, this will be her first visit Down Under. She is very excited about it We will start the trip in Brisbane. Then after a day in Queensland to break up the jet lag, we will fly over to Perth. That’s about like a New York-LA or LA-Maui flight (~5 hrs).

After a few days in Perth, we will drive down to the Bolt Hole neighborhood (about 3-hr drive), and stay at a cottage which is a walking distance away from my former home.

Then we will let the Spirit guide us the rest of the way in WA. I have many friends down there to catch up with and places to see again or for the first time.

On our way back, we plan to spend three days in Sydney. This will include attendance at a Madam Butterfly performance at the Sydney Opera House. And again, catching up with my East Coast Aussie friends.

We hope to be back home in Maui by Feb 27. So we’ll keep in touch when we can.

Love and blessings to all of you.

Bob & Elizabeth

Feb 11 – Brisbane

* * *

AN ESSAY ON TRAVEL – GLOBAL TRAVEL ADVISORY: STAY HOME; KEEP AWAY FROM AIRLINE SHARKS! [editorial comment]

Greed Air

* * *

2 Replies to “AUSTRALIA, HERE WE COME!”

Leave a Reply

