SCOTTISH HIGHLANDS IN HAWAII, POST NUBILA PHOEBUS, LAHAINA SUNSET, GIANT WHITE BIRD OF PARADISE

ANOTHER FLASH FLOOD WELCOMES US BACK TO RAINBOW SHOWER

What a welcome home from Kauai!  First drought, then flood. And then fog that made the Rainbow Shower in Maui like a ranch in the Scottish Highlands. 🙂

IMG_3764

But that’s not what we found when we got back from Kauai. After I had done my evening rounds last night, I told Elizabeth that the ground looked parched.

“There has been evidently no rain here since we left for Kauai” (on Apr 23), I said.  “But it looks like we might be getting the ‘Kauai rain’ soon.”

Well, the Hawaiian rain goddess (Namaka) must have been eavesdropping.  For, she turned on the tap last night to the max. By the time we were about to go to bed, a little past midnight, we could hear our Namaka creek roaring down in the gulch.

“Sound like another flash flood,” I said to Elizabeth as I kissed her goodnight.

Then, while she was off on her travel to slumberland, I took a flashlight and went down to the gulch to see for myself – barefoot and butt naked.  No sense in getting my clothes wet in pitch darkness. 🙂

It was evident that the level of the creek was rising. But it had still not crested. The water was rushing fiercely just under our new Giraffe bridge (see below).

DSCF4909

“Wonder if it will go over it?” was my last thought before heading back up the hill to the house.

It was a different story when I went back down this morning.  The Rainbow Shower looked like Jurassic Park. 🙂 I could see that I will have my work cut out for DSCF4915myself with another post-flash flood cleanup.  Both bridges were holding but they were slightly damaged by the flood.

I’ve marked on these shots the approximate levels of the flash flood as the creek morphed into a river and crested at some point during the night.

DSCF4911 DSCF4912 DSCF4913 DSCF4914 DSCF4916 DSCF4917

DSCF4919

 * * *

POST NUBILA, PHOEBUS!

What a difference a day makes.
Another rare clear sky rainbow. The photo was taken just a few minutes ago…
Post Nubila Phoebux 4-28-15
Clear sky rainbow 4-28-15
* * *

LAHAINA SUNSET & DINNER

This evening, Elizabeth and I went to dinner in Lahaina, a touristy town on the west side of Maui. It was Elizabeth’s treat. We were celebrating her significant business achievement.

While driving to Lahaina, I kept snapping pictures of a beautiful sunset over the island of Lanai.

Here’s a selection of those shots.

Sunset Lahaina 4-28-15
IMG_3770 IMG_3773 IMG_3776 IMG_3772 IMG_3777 IMG_3774
* * *

Apr 29, 2015

GIANT WHITE BIRD OF PARADISE

Ever seen a bigger Bird of Paradise flower? Well, that’s one I just “picked” at the Rainbow Shower, Maui​ gulch.
IMG_3781 IMG_3780
This giant plant has quite a history. When we first discovered it in Nov 2009, it was about 30 ft tall. Bird of Paradise 11-09-09

I cut it back around Christmas that year to give a tiny Royal Palm behind a chance at life. That palm is now over 30 ft tall. And the White Bird of Paradise is coming back. It is now roughly a third of the height it once was, but looking much happier (wider girth).

Wonders of nature… and jewels of the jungle.

ANOTHER GOLDEN SUNSET – AT RAINBOW SHOWER

This evening, we had another golden sunset, this time at the Rainbow Shower.  Take a look…

Golden sunset 4-29-15 IMG_3785 IMG_3784

Leave a Reply

