ST VITUS DAY HIKE ON TOM’S THUMB TRAIL LEAVES MY KNEES NUMB, HEART FULL

IMG_4196

HONORING FALLEN SOLDIERS AND OTHER WAR VICTIMS OVER THE CENTURIES

Today, June 28, is a very special day in history (JUNE 28, ST VITUS DAY… A MOMENTOUS DATE IN HISTORY).  So this afternoon, while Elizabeth took her kids and grandkids to a circus in downtown Phoenix, I headed up to McDowell Mtns over Scottsdale.

This time, I went to the backside mountains (east), where the trailhead for a pretty arduous hike to Tom’s Thumb begins (see CLIMBING UP TO TOM’S THUMBEASTER UNDER TOM’S THUMB, EASTER PARTY

The weather was good but hot. The temps ranged from 105F to 108F, higher at lower elevations.

IMG_4192 IMG_4193 IMG_4188

I made it to just under the Thumb, elevation 3,500 ft, before deciding to turn back. I wanted to make sure I had enough left in my gas tank to get back down to the trailhead. Take a look at how small Pinnacle Peak looks from this vantage point, and then compare to the shots from ground up the last time I climbed it (below).

IMG_4190 IMG_4189 IMG_4184

PRAYERS FOR THE DEAD AND LIVING

‘You’ll have to keep coming back and dying countless times until you also learn it was all for naught.”

Along the way, I kept saying prayers for the souls of all IMG_4197participants in the Battle of Kosovo, and all those hundreds of millions who have died in various senseless wars during the last 626 years.

“You all gave your lives in pursuit of glory and honor, or for domination of one over another,” I said. “As I had also done countless times in my past lifetimes. But now those of you who have ascended know it was for naught. We were all all just actors in a play without beginning or end. Until we learn to write our own ending – in love and light not blood.”

“So I salute all those who realize that today,  And to those who are still trying to get the upper hand battling one another, I say, ‘I also pray for you to learn sooner rather than later: that you’ll have to keep coming back and dying countless times until you also learn it was all for naught’.”

* * *

Pinnacle Peak – from the ground up

IMG_4150 IMG_4149

Pinnacle Peak header

* * *

One Reply to “ST VITUS DAY HIKE ON TOM’S THUMB TRAIL LEAVES MY KNEES NUMB, HEART FULL”

Leave a Reply

