LABOR DAY 2015: LABORING UNDER HAWAIIAN FLAGS

Graziella trees driveway trimming

LABOR DAY 2015: LABORING UNDER HAWAIIAN FLAGS

Labor Day, the last summer holiday, has always had its literal IMG_4462meaning for this writer: LABORING. This year was no exception.  Only this time, I did it under some new Royal Hawaiian flags I had just received.

IMG_4463I used one of them as a sun screen on our lanai (left). IMG_4465Which is where I usually end the day, watching the sunsets over the West Maui Mountains. And this is how I usually start a day – watching the sun rise over our bigger volcano – Haleakala (which means Home of the Sun in Hawaiian, now a 10,000 ft mountain).

Here are now some pictures of the Rainbow Shower on this Labor Day weekend 2015, taken on both sides of the house, and from both sides of the gulch and the creek which runs through the middle of the property:

IMG_4475 IMG_4457 IMG_4466 IMG_4460 IMG_4464

TWO VIEWS FROM OPPOSITE SIDES OF THE GULCH

IMG_4473 Looking westIMG_4467 Looking east

HAPPY LABOR DAY!

* * *

UPDATE Sept 5, 2015 – EVENING

FIRE CEREMONY AND BARBECUE

Using a log I had cut up this morning as fuel for my dinner this evening 🙂

This morning, I did some more work both on tree pruning around the house, and down in the gulch. That’s where I discovered a big tree limb had crashed right in the middle of the road overnight.

IMG_4479

The log was too big for any other manual tools. So even though my knee has not yet healed, I had to use the chainsaw again.

Just as I was about to start, Elizabeth called (from Arizona). I told her what I was about to do.

“Isn’t it time for a rest?” she asked.

“Not for the weary,” I replied tongue-in-cheek.

Anyway, the chainsaw work went okay with no incidents or injuries.  When I realized how dry this limb was, I decided to chop it up into burnable logs. Which this evening I used for a yummy barbecue dinner.

IMG_4481 IMG_4480 IMG_4482

I cooked it in the shaman’s fireplace altar,  as I always do. And I ate it right down there at our glass top table, right next to the rushing creek, and to the sound of the chirping birds.

Life at the Rainbow Shower… 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

