LABOR DAY OUTING AROUND WEST MAUI

LABOR DAY OUTING AROUND WEST MAUI

IMG_4507

Every once in a while, I am moved to do something “exotic” on Labor Day. This year, I thought of driving up to the Haleakala Summit for a sunrise viewing and ceremony. Alas, the forecast was for clouds and rain. No sunrise today. Canceled due to weather.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
El Jeepo

Oh, well. So at 9:30 this morning, El Jeepo and I set out in the opposite direction. My tentative plan was to drive around the West Maui Mountains.  And if I were get to Lahaina by 12:45 PM, take a ferry to Lanai. And then return on the sunset ferry at 6:30 PM.

But no pressure to do it. I resolved not to even look at the clock until I get to Lahaina. If I am meant to do it, my spirit guides and teachers will see to it that I make the ferry on time.

Labor Day map“Tentative” being the keyword for this as most of my plans. I never make firm itineraries unless they involve advance purchases of tickets. And even then, I can change that, too. Like coming back home to Maui this year five weeks earlier than planned, for example.

Anyway, El Jeepo was happy for the exercise. My work horse is great in the gulch where I do most of my “farmer’s yoga.” But every once in a while, he likes to see the world. Just like his owner.

So off we went… to the west.

Here’s now first a quick video report from our West Maui adventure. The story of what happened afterward continues below…

* * *

FALLING ROCKS, FALLING LEAVES…

You will have noticed that I am using the “Autumn Leaves” tune, performed by the late Eva Cassidy, as background music for this video.  You may be wondering why?

Well, at one point on this treacherous drive, a road sign warned, “Falling Rocks.” Immediately, I started humming the Autumn Leaves melody which starts with “Falling Leaves…”

And then, of course, Labor Day signals the end of summer and start of the autumn.  So that’s another reason.

* * *

Labor Day map IMG_4483 IMG_4484 IMG_4491 Kahakuloa_Panorama1  IMG_4493

TREACHEROUS ONE-LANE ROAD

One thing you should know about the drive around the West Maui Mountains is that it is a fairly treacherous road. For quite a few miles, it is actually a single lane road, wide enough for two horses to pass but not two cars.  Not even the Mini Morris. 🙂

Which means one has to be not only careful but also courteous of the drivers coming from the opposite direction.  Tell it to the driver of that white care in front of me.  A tourist, obviously, he and another black car from the opposite direction cause a traffic tie up as they played the game of chicken. Neither would yield the way.

IMG_4499 IMG_4508 IMG_4501

Meanwhile,  a line of cars formed behind each of these brainless Los Turistas. At one point, the white car’s driver almost backed into the mountain while driving in reverse. I kid you not. He should have his license revoked.

Finally, a Hawaiian guy in a golf cart who was waiting in line behind me, walked over and directed the white car into a bypass outlet in front of me, the way ground crew guide the jets into an airport gate.

Shortly after that, we passed that overturned rusted our car. Guess that’s the flip side of the hesitant white car driver – a  reckless driver.

MAUI’s “ROCK OF GIBRALTAR”

Finally, I got to the point which I like to call Maui’s Rock of Gibraltar. Years ago, Elizabeth said she would love to have a B&B at this place. The village’s name is Kahahuloa.

IMG_4494 IMG_4497 IMG_4504  IMG_4509 IMG_4513 IMG_4511

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA El Jeepo 

Now, take a look at the same scene today versus three years ago on Labor Day 2012. What do you see?

 

IMG_4504

Everything is a lot GREENER now. Right?  Except for my shirt, of course. 🙂

So whatever hardship the global causing and the higher temperatures are causing us, humans without an AC, NATURE IS LOVING IT! Look how much happier all the plants are.

Here’s also a link to that LABOR DAY 2012 WEST MAUI story with more pictures of places we passed.

KAPALUA BAY

After rounding the northeast corner of the island, I stopped as usual at my first and favorite vacation spot – Kapalua Bay. That’s where my younger daughter and I vacationed  nearly 30 years ago. Which is why I have been coming back ever since, until we actually moved here in early 2009. You can see why…

IMG_4516

IMG_4514 IMG_4515 IMG_4517 IMG_4518 IMG_4519 IMG_4522

LAHAINA, FINAL STOP

My final stop was Lahaina, a major tourist town on the northwest side of the island (see the map). It is from this harbor that most boats, whether ferries or private, leave for various destinations.

IMG_4524 ScreenShot 2015-09-07 at 3.24.21 PM IMG_4526

As I was driving along the Lahaina shoreline, I could see heavy clouds looming over Lanai. So before buying my ferry tickets to go there, I asked the attendant for a weather report.

“It’s raining,” she said.

“Okay, thanks,” I said. Then turned around and joined the throngs of tourists who were using their last minutes of Labor Day vacations for shopping, eating or just having fun.IMG_4526

Me? I was quite proud of myself when I passed by two my favorite ice cream shops and ended up eventually at a Jamba Juice place for the first time in my life. I ordered “Tropical Dragon.”  Which you can see on the right. It was yummy!

Then I drove back home into more sweltering heat. Once again, the rain forecast never materialized where we live.  Guess Lanai stole all the rain. 🙂

THE MOST FUN: A ROAD TO NOWHERE?

What was the most fun part of this little excursion? This episode…

When I stopped to take a picture of the “Rock of Gibraltar,” another car was already parked there. A middle aged couple were taking pictures of each other with that same backdrop.

IMG_4497

Then the lady walked over to me and asked, “does this road lead anywhere?”

I laughed. “Of course, Madam. All roads lead somewhere. But where in particular would you like to go?”

Anyway, the tree of us had a nice chat afterward. They were tourists from LA (Los Angeles). First time on the island. So I gave them some pointers for which they seemed grateful.

The lady asked me if I would take a picture of the two of them. I did. Then I went on to take my own landscape shot of the Rock of Gibraltar.

Just before they drove off, I said, “come to think of it, would you mind taking a picture of me.”

“Sure,” the lady said, and started to get her camera ready.

“I mean with my camera,” I said smiling.  “I don’t mind it if you also want to take one with yours. But I would like to keep a picture in mine.” 🙂

This is the picture she took…

IMG_4504

Here’s also a link to that LABOR DAY 2012 WEST MAUI story

 

 

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

Leave a Reply

