HO’OKIPA POINT: HAVING WORLD’S MOST FAMOUS SURFING SPOT ALL TO MYSELF

SEPTEMBER 16, 2016

HO’OKIPA POINT: HAVING WORLD’S MOST FAMOUS SURFING SPOT ALL TO MYSELF

This morning, on a spur of the moment, I drove to Ho’okipa Point, the world’s most famous surfing spot which lies about 5 miles from the Rainbow Shower. At the time, I had no idea that I did the exact same thing on this exact day one year ago.
Except that back then I did it in the afternoon (see https://www.facebook.com/bob.djurdjevic/posts/10206108279560902).
One big difference: This time, and or the first time in my life, I was THE ONLY PERSON at Ho’okipa Point! (literally at the point, not the parking lot).
I could not believe it. Normally, this tourist attraction swarms with people. And I spent at least 15 minutes down there by myself watching the surfers and the waves and the beautiful sky.
Maybe it was the mostly overcast day that kept the tourists away. More joy for me. Because the quality of light was amazing. It was as if you’re looking at the ocean through a milky filter.
What I also did not realize at the time was that the color of my shirt blended in so well with the color of the ocean and the sky. Invisible spirit guides doing their magic, I suppose.

Enjoy!

hookipa_panorama-9-16-16img_6645

 * * *

 

SEPTEMBER 16, 2015

WINDSURFING AT HOOKIPA POINT

IMG_4597

WINDSURFING AT HOOKIPA POINT

Looking at World’s Foremost Surfing Spot from a Different Angle

This afternoon, driving home from running some errands in town, I realized that in all these years that I have been driving nearly every by the world’s most famous surfing spot – Hookipa Point – I have never ever taken a picture of it in the windward direction, looking toward the east from where the trade winds come.

So here are some shots I snapped while driving in El Jeepo this afternoon.

IMG_4594IMG_4597

And now, by contrast, here is also a photo album I shot on Sept 1 at the Hookipa Point, the day of our first big surf of the fall season.

Hookipa_Panorama 9-01-15 IMG_4444

In these shots, we are looking toward the west, the usual angle for my Hookipa Point gallery of surf photos.

IMG_4438 IMG_4434 IMG_4440 IMG_4437

Hurricane Ignacio mercifully gave us a miss today (Sept 1), passing north of the Hawaiian islands. But he did send us some messengers in its wake. Great waves rose and crashed against the shore at Hookipa Point this afternoon, one of the favorite surfing spots on Maui.

I was driving back home past Hookipa from running some errands in town when my car practically turned itself into the Hookipa parking lot. And so here are some photo memories I brought home afterward. Which I can now share with all of you.

The surfing season on the windward (north) shore usually doesn’t start until later in the fall. And it runs through the winter and early spring. But this is the earliest date on which I have seen waves like this.

IMG_4436

By the way, Hookipa isn’t really a beach although there is a tiny strip of sand, too. It’s more like a gateway for the surfers to enter the ocean. Only a few feat from the shore, you come to some pretty sharp coral.
Combined with the big surf, that makes for a dangerous combination which only experienced surfers can handle. And even they get hurt.
The doctor who worked on my (chainsaw) knee in the ER on Aug 25 is a surfer himself. He told me stories about how many world famous surfers he had patched up from coral cuts or other crashes.
By the way, I did not realize until today that Hookipa is considered the world’s foremost surfing spot until I saw it this morning in Wikipedia.

* * *

BIG SURF AT HO’OKIPA POINT

Jan 23, 2015

After Jaws, we moved on to Ho’okipa Point, about 5.5 miles west of Jaws. The scenery there just as spectacular, only in a different ways.

First, we were able to get right down to the sea level to take some of the shots. At Jaws, unless you are a surfer, you can only observe the action from about half a mile away.

Second, at Ho’okipa the ocean is wide open. So the waves are longer and resemble the white mountains of foam and water crashing against the shore.

Enjoy…

Hookipa_Panorama 2

Hookipa_Panorama3

IMG_2695

IMG_2696

Here’s also a short video I made at this magical spot…

* * *

And then just before leaving Ho’okipa Pt and heading back home for a hearty breakfast, I spotted a bent tree that provided a perfect photo-op for a Yin-Yang balanced Gemini… 🙂

YinYanBob Gemini Hookipa

 

Aloha!

* * *

UPDATE JAN 23, 2015

MASSIVE SWELL HITS HAWAII, ENTIRE STATE GETS STOKED

 
The Huffington Post  |  By Landess Kearns
Posted: 01/23/2015
 
Yesterday, Elizabeth and I brought you the surfing action at Jaws and Ho’okipa Point (see http://wp.me/p3R16m-1xr). Today, the big surf news went global after Huffington Post among others posted this story.  
 
“On Wednesday, the biggest swell of the winter season hit Hawaii’s north-facing shores, bringing waves of up to 40 feet to famed surf spots like Jaws, Pipeline, and big-wave surfing mecca, Waimea Bay.
 
It seems like everyone with an Instagram account or a video camera went up north to watch the daredevil surfers, so we rounded up some of our favorites. The images below will definitely get your heart racing — and you won’t even have to get your feet wet.”
Jaws closeup 1-21-15 Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 7.33.54 PM
 
BE SURE TO WATCH TWO SHORT BUT BREATHTAKING VIDEOS…
 

 

One Reply to “HO’OKIPA POINT: HAVING WORLD’S MOST FAMOUS SURFING SPOT ALL TO MYSELF”

Leave a Reply

