RIVER RUNS WILD: ANOTHER FLASH FLOOD ROARS THROUGH RAINBOW SHOWER

IMG_4645

RIVER RUNS WILD: ANOTHER FLASH FLOOD ROARS THROUGH RAINBOW SHOWER

UPDATE OCTOBER 6, 2015

You should have heard and seen the river run wild and roar through the Rainbow Shower last night. Even at 80 ft higher elevation of our home, we could hear it thunder down in the gulch.

At one point, I dropped all my clothes, grabbed a flashlight and went down to see the nature’s crescendo up close and personally.  The river was running about a foot higher than our footbridge, making it look like a waterfall.

“Wonder if we are still going to have our footbridge by the morning,” I said to Elizabeth when I returned to the house.

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 11.19.21 AM River runs wild 8-25-15 Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 11.19.57 AM Scenes from a clear sky flash flood on Aug 25

The two big culverts under our road bridge were completely submerged in the raging water. The river was running on both sides around both of our islands (see above).

“Too bad this is happening at night,” I thought, “so I cannot film it.”

When I came back down this morning, the river had receded by about 2-3 feet from the high water mark last night. But It was still pretty to watch. And to contrast it with the serene films of the Rainbow Shower I had just posted.

Take a look. In this video, you can see the footage from this morning, combined with that of a clear sky flash flood on my first day back from the mainland – Aug 25, and with the shots taken by the drone camera on Sep 26 in calm and sunny weather.

This video is sort of the the Yin and the Yang of the Rainbow Shower, our Yin home.

* * *

Here are now also some still shots from my morning walk around the Rainbow Shower…

River Runs Wild headerIMG_4635 IMG_4636 IMG_4646 IMG_4644 IMG_4643 IMG_4642 IMG_4641 IMG_4639 IMG_4638

PARADOX: THE MORE FLASH FLOODS, THE LESS DAMAGE

True. But want to know something interesting? After each of these flash floods, the riverbed gets deeper and wider as water keeps scraping off the dirt from the banks and dumping it into to the ocean (eventually).

As a result, we actually have LESS FLOODING than before. Because the riverbed can hold more water.

It may sound like a paradox. But the more flash floods we have, the less flood damage we experience. Make sense?

TROPICAL STORM “OHO” NOW A HURRICANE

Meanwhile, the tropical storm OHO has now turned into a hurricane, as predicted. And also as expected, it is making a 90-degree turn to the right, sparing the Hawaiian islands a direct hit. thank God

OHO update 10-06-15

 * * *

RIVER RISING, ANOTHER FLASH FLOOD LOOMING

OCTOBER 4, 2015

IMG_4694

Tropical Storm OHO to Give Hawaii a Miss?

Just got back from the gulch. Our river is rising again. Another flash flood is looming. And more chainsaw work for me… 😦

That’s flash flood number… ? Who knows. Umpteen? There have been so many this year. That’s El Niño for us…

It feels like we are living in a cloud. 🙂 The misting and rain are constant. So rather than get my clothes soaked, I took them off and went down to the gulch stark naked to enjoy the roar of the rising river and the sights of the Rainbow Shower in the rain.

IMG_4690No, I am not an exhibitionist. Those who have been here know how private the Rainbow Shower is. The only creature that saw me, besides the trees and plants, was a little weasel who made off with a lilikoi in his mouth up the hill from the footbridge. 🙂

Here are some of the rising river scenes I recorded with my camera…

IMG_4691 IMG_4694 IMG_4692 IMG_4695 IMG_4696 IMG_4697 IMG_4698 IMG_4701 IMG_4702

TOPPLED TREE: ANOTHER CHAINSAW PROJECT FOR ME

I also discovered that a big Christmas Berry tree has been toppled near our road bridge over the river.  I gasped.

“No more chainsaw work,” I muttered.

IMG_4704But there is also good news about it. I saw a big limb of that tree leaning precariously.  Only yesterday, I told Elizabeth how it would be difficult to cut because I cannot reach it with a chainsaw.

Well, now I can. My guides and teachers must have heard my lament and brought (a very old and big) tree down overnight. 🙂

IMG_4700 IMG_4699 IMG_4703

IMG_4705

TROPICAL STORM/HURRICANE “OHO” TO MISS HAWAII?

Rainbow Shower_Panorama 10-04-2015

Oct 4, 2015

Looks like we will be spared once again a direct hit by a tropical storm OHO which is expected to strengthen into a hurricane over the next day or so. But steady rain and occasional strong winds will be with us for most of the next week.

This is what the Rainbow Shower looks like right now. Except for the banana and bamboo groves, this could be a scene from the Scottish Highlands. It feels like we are living in a cloud. 🙂 The misting and rain are constant.

What’s fascinating about this sharp right turn OHO is making is that another tropical storm southwest of Hawaii is doing the same. It’s almost as if God has erected a protective cylinder over our islands, warding off inclement assailants and sending them elsewhere across the Pacific.

We should be feeling blessed and grateful. I know I am…

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 8.49.26 AM Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 8.51.50 AM 10.37.14 AM

UPDATE OCT 8, 2015

BIGGEST LUMBER-JACKING CHALLENGE YET

 

Remember that big tree that the flash flood of Oct 4 had toppled? (two left shots – also see RIVER RUNS WILD: ANOTHER FLASH FLOOD ROARS THROUGH RAINBOW SHOWER – http://wp.me/p3R16m-2fb).   I said that was going to be my next (unwelcome) chainsaw project. 

I have not had much luck with chainsaw work lately, thus “unwelcome.” And this was clearly by far the biggest chainsaw challenge I have ever faced in the nearly 7 years at the Rainbow Shower. 

Because upon close inspection, I realized that there were three tree Christmas Berry tree trunks interwoven together, two of them with about with about a 30-inch diameter. And the limbs at the crown was so dense and tangled up together that I could not even see through them so as to gauge how much work I had ahead of me. 

But first, I had to wait two days for the rain to stop first before I could get started. 

Yesterday, I tackled the tree and kept going until I was ready to drop. I lost 6 pounds during the 3-hours of lumber-jacking even though I was hydrating all the time during the job. And yet I had only cleared about half of the tree’s crown.  

This morning, I went back at again. After a little less than 2 hours I finished cutting up, stripping off and hauling away the entire crown. Four pounds down this time. But I was not as pooped as yesterday. So Elizabeth and I carried on with the rest of the day business as usual.

IMG_4699 IMG_4708

One interesting tidbit: I never used the chainsaw. Well, least not a “proper” chainsaw. To do all this, I used a polesaw (chainsaw on pole), and two manually clippers.  

Of course, the rest of the job will be all chainsaw. Only the big fat limbs are left.  Wish me luck… 🙂

UPDATE OCT 18, 2015

Tree before-flash flood-now

BIGGEST LUMBER-JACKING JOB NOW FINISHED

AFTER 5 WORK DAYS WITH 3 CHAINSAWS OVER 12 DAYS

That last flash flood of Oct 6 created the biggest lumber-jacking challenge I have faced in nearly 7 years as a caretaker of the Garden of Eden called Rainbow Shower. A big Christmas Berry tree, consisting of four large trunks woven together like braided hair crashed onto the lower lawn 12 days ago (see http://wp.me/p3R16m-2fb).

I have been chipping away at it ever since – whenever weather permitted me to do so. We have had a lot of rain lately. this afternoon, I finally declared the job done – after 5 work days with 3 chainsaws over 12 days of elapsed time.

Now also in hindsight, I can confirm that this was the toughest lumber-jacking challenge I have faced. Yes, the work was harder than even last year’s LUMBERJACK CHALLENGE – REACHING THE “UNREACHABLE TREE” (

One bit of good news… God willing, I think I might be able to preserve the huge Christmas Berry tree. I left these two small young limbs that are protruding from the big old trunk, hoping they will get enough “juice” from the ground to go on living. So God willing, despite lopping off 95% of the tree, I still might be able to preserve for future generations.

We’ll see… Let’s say a prayer for these green babies.

Aloha.

Leave a Reply

