FIRST DAY OF SPRING UNDER TOM’S THUMB

IMG_5886

I don’t know why, but the grueling climb up the Tom’s Thumb trail in McDowell Mtns above Scottsdale is becoming a tradition for special occasions. Last year, I did it on St Vitus Day (June 28) and again on the Fourth of July in the heat of the Arizona summer.

Today, the first day of Spring 2016, I was moved to do it again… for the first time this year. And this is what I saw on my way up – from the trailhead at about 2,700 ft to the saddle under Tom’s Thumb at about 3,700 ft…

Once at the saddle under Tom’s Thumb, I took a peek at it through this marvelous Rock Window. I am not a Spanish speaker, but the words Ventana de Piedra rang in my ears at the time. When I came home, Elizabeth confirmed that that’s indeed what they mean. 🙂

And now, here’s a short video I made at the saddle from that very spot above — the Ventana de Piedra.

First Day of Spring 2016 in Arizona Desert: A HIKE TO TOM’S THUMB – a film by Bob Altzar Djurdjevic – March 20, 2016 – “La Primavera” (Spring) music recorded by ALTZAR in Dec 2013

 * * *

SPRINGTIME IN THE DESERT

And now, here are some photos I took this morning as I walked around our Scottsdale neighborhood…

Images from the Vivaldi tune “La Primavera” (Spring) which I recorded in 2013.

UPDATE APRIL 1, 2016

ANOTHER TREK TO CALVARY HILL ARIZONA, THIS TIME TO THE SUMMIT

Today I was moved to undertake another trek to Calvary Hill Arizona. This time, I made it to the summit as I had no deadlines. (The last time, two days ago, I had an appointment in town).
The weather was perfect – mid-70s with crystal clear skies. And much of the desert was on bloom.

Here’s also a VIDEO MESSAGE FROM THE SUMMIT I recorded today…

Here are some shots I brought back from this 3-hour bike-hike-bike adventure.

 * * *

UPDATE APRIL 10, 2016

Pinnacle Peak summit 4-10-16

FAREWELL HIKE ON PINNACLE PEAK

Today was the first day we’ve had some real rain since we came to Arizona from Maui over two months ago. The rain did not last long. But it was enough to drop the temperatures  into the mid-50s F, as if it were still winter. A few days ago, the thermometer reached 99F. The normal is 84F.

Anyway, we figured the cool and rainy day would be a perfect setting for my farewell hike on Pinnacle Peak. On Wednesday, I fly back to Maui. Elizabeth with stay on in Arizona a bit longer before rejoining me.

When we got to the Pinnacle Peak trail parking lot, it was virtually deserted. There was only one car. We were the second one. Three weeks ago, when we hiked this trail with our out-of-town visitor from Virginia, hundreds of cars were parked all around, overflowing the capacity of the parking.

Today, we virtually had the whole mountain to ourselves. And it was wonderful.

Here are some shots from the farewell hike, offering cloudy views from Pinnacle Peak in all four cardinal directions…

Author: ALTZAR

Bob Altzar Djurdjevic is a writer, musician, video maker, thrice-ordained Inca-shaman, geopolitical commentator, business analyst, playwright-producer... He is also founder of non-profit organizations Stewards of the Earth (https://www.facebook.com/groups/gaiastewards) and Truth in Media (https://www.facebook.com/groups/truthinmedia.org/) ALTZAR shares his time between Maui, Hawaii and Scottsdale, Arizona. You can follow his blog at http://djurdjevic.wordpress.com/ and his travelogues at https://yinyangbob.wordpress.com/). Bob had also worked as a business consultant and advisor to top executives of large multinational computer companies for 36 years (1978-2014). He had spent 8 years working for IBM prior to starting his own business in 1978.

2 thoughts on “FIRST DAY OF SPRING UNDER TOM’S THUMB”

  1. Wow Bob and Elisabeth how lucky you are to have the Peak all to yourselves. It must be a treat to do it in Spring when it is not so hot. I have watched your journeys together and I just loved Yellowstone. Keep it up so people like me can enjoy you sharing all the wonderful trips you make. Thank you for sharing some of Arizona too. It’s like having a peak into some places where an accidental visitor or tourist would never find it’s way to. You are both so fit and it is great you can both do all these journeys.

Leave a Reply

