“EL JEEPO” SAVES THE DAY AGAIN!

Getting By “Murphy’s Law” and Mercury Retrograde

Today was one of those days when “Murphy’s Law” reigned supreme (“anything that can go wrong, will go wrong”). But it was all good fun. Obstacles surmounted. Lessons learned.

And “El Jeepo” saved the day again!  It rescued a truck more than twice its size. 🙂

mercury-retrograde-copyright2011romanolehyaworsky-348It’s not like I hadn’t been warned to expect trouble today.  I was. First thing in the morning. Right after my morning prayers and incantations. I just didn’t know what to expect.

I cheerfully looked forward to finding out just exactly which way my Spirit guides might try to trip me up today. So they can have a chuckle at watching me struggle. And find out how quickly I recover and learn.

Spiritual Backdrop

Why? Because today is the Mercury Retrograde in Taurus Station Day (meaning peak of a 4-week celestial event that happens four times per year).

The second Mercury Retrograde of 2016 occurs in Taurus (23o 36″) on April 28 at 5:20 pm Universal Time, 1:20 pm Eastern Daylight Time, 10:20 pm Pacific Daylight Time, and 7:20 pm her in Hawaii.

So what, you say? A planet appears to be going backward, at least as seen from the Earth.

Well, that could be happening with our lives, too. Unless we are careful and take steps to prevent it.

Mercury Retrograde occurs at two levels. At one level – actions of others can set you back. There is not much you can do about that. Other than just sigh and let it go. Instead of fuming and fussing when it happens.

But at the personal level, you can do a lot more n order to avoid the consequences of Mercury Retrograde. Most of us encounter the setbacks when we are not centered, not aware or conscious of what is going on around us.

More often than not, the problems that set us back occur when we do not act from our heart and spirit. When we are not being AUTHENTIC.

So we have to exercise DISCERNMENT.

Amazingly, that’s exactly what my Spirit guides’ also counselled me to do this morning – through the DISCERNMENT Mystic Medicine card. More specifically, here’s what they said, using the words of my old friend Geronimo, the famous Apache warrior:

“Everyone has experienced feelings of failure when proper Discernment wasn’t considered or Discernment Merged.jpgexercised. In reverence to everything having a purpose and a lesson, all is perfect in the mind of God. Yet in consideration of an easier pathway, perhaps you should explore the mysteries and seek the wisdom of better Discernment. This is an exercise of Detachment from Ego and a profound personal practice of clear judgment and understanding.”

Instead we are reacting from our needs, our hurts, from our buttons being pushed, or the way that we take care of others and not ourselves. In that way we act from our shadow, and that is what mercury retrograde is all about.”

Mercury Retrograde occurs when it is moving backwards, into its shadow, and thus communication, scheduling, transportation and judgment becomes cloudy or error prone. As much as outer work is challenged by Mercury Retrograde, introspection and inner work is very supported.

So we should take advantage of Mercury Retrograde by clearing your own tendencies to get caught up in your own shadows and those of others.

(Which is why I smiled happily at everything that happened this morning. And as a result, I was able to help other people around me also face their retrograde problems with a smile on their faces).

Okay, so back to the earthly realm and this morning’s events…

Garden Shed: Today’s Site of the Mystery School Class

Old Shed Jan 2015

When I bought the Rainbow Shower property over seven years ago, the garden shed the former owners had left was already on its last legs. More importantly, it was UGLY, made out of the corrugated gray metal.

So one of the first things we did was have it painted forest green. So it would blend better with nature around it. However, that did not stop the leaks and the rust.  To keep my tractor mower dry during heavy rains, I had to cover it with a tarp.

Which I could have done without a shed, too, I am sure some you wise guys are thinking.  True. But you have no idea how strong the winds around here can be.

Bottom line? The shed is a necessity.

So on Monday, I broke down and bought a new one. And I hired my longtime contractor-friend Scott to dismantle the old one and install the new shed.

This morning was our first day on the job. Scott arrived with a huge sledge hammer and started to take the old shed apart.

Lifetime shedHe had previously unloaded the new shed which arrived in two big boxes (here it is – as it will look when assembled – right).

“Are you feeling like Hercules swinging that huge hammer?” I asked Scott at one point of the destruction.

“What I am feeling is tired,” Scott replied.

“Well, nobody said that Hercules never got tired, either. But surely you must get a kick out of smashing things like that, with brute force? I know I did when I was a kid.”

“Sadly, there weren’t too many times when I was allowed to do it,” I added.

We both laughed.

After about an hour or so, Scott asked me to come out and look at something at the old shed platform which we are going to keep for the new shed. Once we settled the issue, he said he would be back tomorrow to pick up the metal trash and take it away. We said our goodbyes to each other.

A few minutes later, though, I heard him revving up his big pick-up truck.

“Uh, uh…” I said to myself. “This can’t be good.”

I remembered several years ago having to use my little 4WD Jeep to pull another big pickup truck from the gulch. The truck belonged to a lumberjack I had hired to do some chainsaw work for me. Alas, the turkey never told me he did not have a 4WD before taking his truck down there. And getting stuck as a result.

In the aftermath, there were big ruts and tracks left where he was trying to pull himself up the slippery slope. Unsuccessfully in the end. Before my little El Jeepo came to his rescue.

“Are you in trouble with your truck?”, I asked Scott when I came out to see what was happening.

By that stage, Scott had also made some ruts and tracks in my lawn trying to drive his truck up the gentle slope. We’d had a few showers this morning. And the grass was wet and slippery. And his truck did not have a 4wD, either. So he was also stuck.

“Okay,” I said. “I’ll bring my El Jeepo around.”

“Your what?”

“El Jeepo. That’s what we call my Jeep.”

“I see. Like El Chapo,” Scott injected some humor of his own.

“Not quite,” I said. “El Jeepo is actually known as the white knight that helps rescue people who are in trouble.

IMG_6075

The next problem was the rope. Or the lack thereof. I had one which I used when El Jeepo had to pull my tractor mower out of trouble. But with Scott’s big and heavy truck, the rope snapped like a sewing thread right away.

“Okay, jump in,” I told Scott cheerfully. “We are going to take El Jeepo to the local Haiku hardware store, and see if we can get a proper towing rope there.”

We did. It was a rope fit to pull 3,500 pound trucks.

“It’s bigger than my truck,” Scott was impressed.

“Not exactly. Maybe stronger,” I opined.

Half an hour later, we were back at the shed site. This time, it was El Jeepo that did the Herculean work rescuing a truck more than twice its size.

Once up on the paved driveway, Scott was visibly relieved. He gave me a thumbs up sign and yelled “thank you,” before driving up the hill as if his truck might refuse service even on our concrete driveway. 🙂

“See you tomorrow,” I said.

“I am not taking my truck back down there tomorrow,” Scott volunteered. “I’ll carry all the metal trash myself up the hill.”

Guess once burnt, twice shy. 🙂

Mailbox Collapse

After we were done with the rescue mission, I also found out that our mailbox had collapsed. The two posts that had been anchored in concrete for years had rotted away. So I improvised this solution to keep it functional for a few more years.

IMG_6077

And no, I do NOT pride myself on being a “handyman.” In fact, I hate that kind of stuff. But you gotta do what you gotta do.  Especially on Mercury Retrograde Days.

Happy Mercury Retrograde in Taurus! Stay safe. And keep smiling. It will all pass.

 * * *

UPDATE APRIL 30, 2016

DAY OF REST TURNS INTO A DAY OF HARD TOIL

What happened today is a perfect example of we can “the best laid plans of mice and men” can be turned around into something completely different and unexpected.

When I woke up this morning, I thought today would be my day of rest. Thought I deserved it after a vigorous sailing exercise yesterday, and several days of pretty hard physical work here at the Rainbow Shower in Maui.

Well, my Spirit guides thought otherwise. The day started easy enough.  I admired the progress Scott, my contractor-friend, had made with construction of the new shed.

IMG_6089

It looked like he just needed to finish the roof, and voila, we are done.

“Not so fast,” said my Spirit guides, speaking through Scott. He told me this morning that we, meaning me, will have to dig up and pave a new “driveway” to the shed. Because the doors of the new shed open outward. Whereas the doors of my old shed were sliding. And since there was about a foot and a half incline coming out of the shed, it means we could not open the new doors without excavating the ground in front of it.

And who would be the excavator?

That would be me. The owner of the new shed.

Which meant I had saddle up my El Jeepo and go into town first to get the necessary construction materials – sand, tiles, etc. And then, when I came back, start digging. With a pick and a shovel. No power tools allowed or available for a ditch-digging job like this. Especially as it was through the hard grass and roots that had formed over decades of the lawn serving as a green driveway.

Five pounds lighter and 2.5 hours later, my phone rang. It was Elizabeth calling me from Corpus Christi, Texas, where she has been visiting her family. I told her how grateful I was for giving me an excuse to take a break from this back-breaking work.

“This has been the hardest day of work since I came back,” I told her.

Anyway, we are still not done, Scott and I, as you can see from the above evening photos. But it is close.  I just need to dig up another 5-6 cubic feet of grass and dirt, lay the sand and the tiles, while Scott has to put up the finishing touches on the actual shed.

And then we can both hopefully breathe a sigh of relief. Tomorrow. And forever. Because this shed is made of plastic. It will never rust.  And as luck would have it, and Scott also observed today, its brown and cream paint job even matches the color combination of our home.

“I noticed that as soon as I saw it at Costco,” I told Scott. “That’s why I figured it was meant to be. I had to buy it.”

As for today, my planned day of rest turned into one of the hardest working days at the Rainbow Shower in years.

“Any time you see me drinking a mixture of milk and water with ice in the middle of the day, you know it’s been a hard day,” I told Elizabeth.

She laughed. She remembered making me plenty of other drinks like that before when I would come home looking like a shadow of my former self. But today was my first one of the kind since I returned to Maui on Apr 13. Which should tell us something about how hard being a human excavator can be, especially when ditch-digging entails having to dig up a mature lawn.

UPDATE MAY 1, 2016

NEW SHED – FINISHED!

Well, today was the day our new shed is officially finished. And that included my own excavation and paving job (see below).

Here it is in real life and 3D, as compared to the file photo at the Costco web site with which we started (below right).

At the end, I have my contractor-friend Scott a special Certificate of Achievement.

So now we just have to wait for the rains and winds to come and test the structural integrity of both ground and above-ground work.

* * *

UPDATE MAY 2, 2106

TWO BOOKENDS OF THE SAME DAY

“Firebird” (mower) Passes the Test

May 2, 2016 – AM and PM

Morning Rainbow and Sunset, 12 Hours Apart

…with a 2-hour “farmer’s yoga” in between, aboard my Firebird riding mower, now happily resting and spending his first night in his new home.

IMG_6112.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

