SPUR-OF-THE-MOMENT SAILING ADVENTURE ON “SCOTCH MIST”

Don’t get your hopes up. This is not a drunken sailor story. 🙂 “Scotch Mist” is not a whiskey. It was the winner of the Victoria (British Columbia, Canada) – Maui (Hawaii) 1984 International Sailing Race. And I got to sail on her this afternoon. 🙂

A friend from Arizona asked me this evening “how’s life on Maui?”

Life is good over here on Maui. I just got back from an impromptu sailing adventure this afternoon off the coast of Lahaina. And was welcomed back at our Haiku home by a beautiful sunset rainbow.

Sunset rainbow 4-29-16

“Scotch Mist,” by the way, the racing sailboat I was on this afternoon, won the 1984 Victoria, British Columbia (Canada) to Maui race. It was quite a feat. The race took 14 days from start to finish.

Victoria to Maui International Yacht Race, first contested in 1965, is the pinnacle of Pacific Northwest ocean racing. Vic-Maui runs every second year, starting in June or July off Victoria, British Columbia and finishing near Lahaina, Maui, a distance of approximately 2,308 nautical miles.

I knew none of that when I woke up this morning. The entire sailing trip was a spur-of-the-moment thing. I was actually just trying to test the battery endurance of my new Nissan Leaf electric car. And Lahaina-Kapalua West Maui coastline is about as far as you can go one-way on our island from our Haiku home.

I know what you’re thinking.. “Scotch Mist?” Couldn’t you have picked some other boat to sail on?

No. It was actually that name that drew me to the slip where the boat was docked in Lahaina harbor. Elizabeth and I have been reading Diana Gabaldon’s “OUTLANDER” series of books. Plus I recently intuited my lifetime as King James VI and I of Scotland, and later also England and Ireland.

So I just walked up to the girl behind the counter and the “Scotch Mist” slip and struck up a conversation.

And found out that, no, you don’t have to be from the Highlands to sail on Scotch Mist. Nor inebriated. Though you can if you want. They serve beer and wine on board. 🙂  I think that Stephanie, a young woman from Washington, DC via Tennessee who served the drinks while the boat was swerving every which way was the real hero of the day.

I would pass, though, on alcohol. First, because you can get banged up pretty bad on a slippery deck and then not remember afterward what hit you. 🙂 Second, because you couldn’t remember and savor this wonderful memory. 🙂

Here’s a video from my spur-of-the-moment trip to Lahaina and the sailing on “Scotch Mist:”

 * * *

Here are also some more still pictures….

DSCF5093

IMG_6082

Sunset Rainbow pano 4-29-16

 * * *

 

One Reply to “SPUR-OF-THE-MOMENT SAILING ADVENTURE ON “SCOTCH MIST””

Leave a Reply

