SUNSET FIRE CEREMONY, GRAND WAILEA LUNCHEON

“So we’ll just have to come back again for an encore,” Elizabeth said. Indeed, the $100 should be still in our gift card.

SUNSET FIRE CEREMONY

Blue smoke – sign of Divine presence – rises from sacred fire, followed by misty Spirit blessing at the end


I had not yet opened my eyes this morning when I felt I needed to do a fire ceremony today. I have not done one in over six months. So why today?
I did not know the answer at first. But then I realized that today 7-13-2016 is a double Masters #11 and a triple #3 day. In other words, an auspicious time.When I later drew my spirit guidance for the day and it turned out to be Gratitude, I understood why I needed to do a fire ceremony – thank my Spirit guides in a shamanic for heeding the prayers I had been sending their way. The shamanic way means – through fire.In time, I will write a full story about what happened this evening around sunset. For now, here’s a 5-minute video I made about that deeply moving Sunset Fire Ceremony.

 * * *

PHOTO ALBUM

 * * *

A Short Story

July 14, 2015

GRAND LUNCHEON AT GRAND WAILEA

Another Unexpected Magical Experience

When I did my morning meditations and incantations, I realized that today, July 14, 2016, was also an auspicious date. Not just because it is the Bastille Day, the 227th anniversary of the storming of the Bastille, which marked the start of the French Revolution. 7-14-2016 is a septuple #3 day numerologically (i.e., #21, which is also a #3, the day of magic which brought me here to Maui eight years ago -see “Maui Calling…“, Dec 2008).

I just did not know what this would mean in our lives today. I found out this afternoon as we enjoyed a grand luncheon at the Grand Wailea resort on the southwest (touristy side of Maui. It was an unexpected magical experience.

IMG_6438

What were we doing on the touristy side of our island?

Well, my daughters sent us there. Figuratively. They gave me a Grand Wailea gift card for my birthday, which was June 3.  By the time we drove over there to collect it, it was the third week of June. What followed was a charade of incompetence by the staff and management at one of the fanciest resorts on Maui – owned and managed by the exclusive Waldorf Astoria chain of hotels. I will spare you the details. Suffice it say that even a Motel 8 would have delivered a better customer service.

So we did not expect much when we showed up today to cash in on my gift card. Considering how expensive everything is, we thought maybe we’d have a couple of soft drinks and desserts. And that’s about all the gift card would have covered.

Well, we were pleasantly surprised the reasonable prices at the resort’s terrace restaurant, offering beautiful beach and ocean views and a great light menu. So we decided to have a luncheon there. Except we don’t eat lunch. So call it a 3 PM dinner if you like.

The food was delicious. The views were great from the corner table which gave us complete privacy (see above).

But the best part was yet to come.  I asked for the bill and handed the waitress my gift card. She returned a few minutes later, card in hand, and a big smile on her face.

“We are having some problems with our gift card machine,” she said, “so your luncheon is on the house.”

I was stunned. “I don’t understand,” I said. “There is $100 on that card.”

“I am sure there is. We don’t doubt your word. But don’t worry about it. Everything’s been taken care of. So just enjoy the rest of your day.”

Elizabeth and I looked at each other in disbelief.

“That’s what the resort management should have done by way of apology for the gift card hassles they put us through,” I said. “Guess now our spirit guides have remedied their sloppiness and indifference to customers.”

“So we’ll just have to come back again for an encore,” Elizabeth said. Indeed, the $100 should be still in our gift card.

And then I also remembered. This was not the first time something like that had happened. When we visited the Rainbow Shower for the first time in December 2008, we stopped in Paia to get some smoothies. And after chatting with the owner while he was making it, I asked how much I owed him.

“Nothing. It’s on the house,” he replied.

“But why?” I wondered.

“Just because. I like you,” he replied.

Our real estate agent, who was with us at the time, was stunned. “I’ve never seen anything like it before,” she said after we left the shop.

“That’s a sign from the Spirit,” I replied. “We are welcome here on the north shore of Maui.”

Eight years later, it would appear we are now also welcome on the southwest shore of Maui. 🙂  And yes, I now understood how the septuple #3 day manifested itself through this unexpected magical experience. I raised my head to the heavens and thanked my Spirit guides silently.

COASTLINE WALK THEN AND NOW – IN 2008 and 2016

After the luncheon, we went out for a nice walk along the coastal path. That’s also what we did in December 2008 during our first stay in this area. Here are some shots from that little trip down the memory lane.

This evening, I was stunned to discover that I took the above left shot from almost the exact same spot during that walk on Dec 1, 2008. Except, being a winter season, it was close to sunset and the light was different. Take a look…

 * * *

An Evening at the Historic Iao Theater in Wailuku

July 16, 2015

MONTY PYTHON’S SPAMALOT

A wonderful spoof musical on King Arthur and Camelot

Elizabeth and I attended a live performance of Monty Python’s Spamalot music last night at the historic Iao Theater in Wailuku, Maui. It was very entertaining. The sellout crowd was so boisterous and into the show that at times it felt as if we were at a sporting event. I could not help but wonder if that was the friends and the families of the mostly amateur performers cheering them on. 🙂

Anyway, we had a good time.I had seen this musical on London’s West End stage in 2008, but it was fun seeing it again in Maui.

Here are some pictures from last night…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

