AN EXTRAORDINARY SUNDAY

STRONG WINDS CAUSE STATEWIDE INTERNET FAILURES, FIRST EVER FIRE AT HOME, JAPANESE SILKWORM ART,MAUI POPS BROADWAY CONCERT, RAINBOW BOOKENDS

When I woke up this morning, I had no idea how eventful this day would end up being. It had everything – man-created and God-made events. And all of that was bracketed as if by bookends by this pair of beautiful rainbows – one in the morning, and one in the evening.

INTERNET AND POWER OUTAGE

Strong winds which started during the night brought down the internet today for almost 18 hours. Not just at the Rainbow Shower. Or even Maui. This was a STATEWIDE outage by Time Warner Oceanic Cable, according to their posted message.

The power had also failed at one point during the night. All of my electric clocks were blinking unhappily when I woke up. But at least they were on.

Yesterday, my email was also down most of the day. That was my bad – a man-made problem. I was transferring four of my older websites to a cheaper hosting company. So it was to be expected that some disruptions would happen. Guess today God decided to give me another day off the net by blowing in this storm. 🙂

FIRST FIRE EVER

The strong winds also brought in colder weather. I know, some of you folks in the northeast, midwest or Alaska would laugh at what we consider cold in Hawaii. The temperature inside the house was about 65 at noon.

Our climate here is such that most homes don’t have either a heating or A/C system. When it gets “cold” like this, we just put on an extra layer of clothing (like my cardigan – see below). And still keep the windows open.

Well today, for the first time ever, I decided to light a fire in our fireplace. Until now, this has been merely a piece of decorative furniture. It did not generate much heat. It was just newspapers and kindling. But it looked pretty.

Elizabeth texted me that she wished she were here.  Guess Arizona is also having a cold spell. But at least the folks there have proper heating and A/C in most homes.

INTERESTING DRIVE TO KAHULUI

I like seeing Broadway musicals live in New York. But I am not so crazy about concerts just the hits from musical.  So it was only late last night that I finally decided to buy a ticket and go to today’s Maui Pops matinee concert at the MACC (Maui Arts and Cultural Center).

“Why not?” I said to myself. It’s not like I have some other pressing engagements on a Sunday afternoon.

img_0813

On my drive to Kahului, I was amazed to see a couple of windsurfers braving these strong winds over about 10 foot waves at Ho’okipa Point, one of the world’s most famous surfing spots. There were no other “regular” surfers today. Guess most of them had more sense than that.

Sun, strong winds, mist and tourists undaunted by weather challenges were also all present at the same time in Paia. I just shook my head.

“Guess I am becoming a wimp living in Hawaii,” I mused.  When I was doing my shamanic rites of passage for ordinations in Peru we camped at 15,000 ft elevations in the High Andes and even swam in icy lakes. So icy, in fact, that surface ice cut the skin on my shins as I was walking into the lake.

AMAZING JAPANESE ARTIST’S SILKWORM ART

An unexpected pleasure, and actually the highlight of my visit to MACC, was an exhibit which just opened at the Shaeffer Gallery. Which is right next to the concert venue. Akihiko Izukura, a Japanese master of dyeing and weaving, works primarily in silk by transforming thread into “wind-like” fabrics. He hand-dyes silk with subtle colors made only from natural materials following a process that is over 2,000 years old.

Take a look at some of these amazing creations…

You can find out more about this artist if you click here…. http://mauiarts.org/exhibit-detail.php.

MAUI POPS BROADWAY CONCERT

The concert featured two award winning Broadway stars – Christiane Noll and Doug LcBrecque, along with the award-winning composer and producer – Jason Howland, who conducted the Maui Pops orchestra.

img_0813

The music was good and the singers excellent. But as I said, not exactly my cup of tea when it comes to music. So I left during the intermission.

EVENING RAINBOW COMPLETES BOOKENDS

When I came back home, I was greeted by an evening rainbow.

“Oh, so today, God is gracing us with rainbow bookends,” I thought as I grabbed the camera to capture this memory.

I was about to get in my car and drive to Pukalani Starbucks where I was hoping to connect to the internet. I had already disconnected and packed my laptop. But something made me go back to the office to double check on the status.

Bingo! The internet was back. Which is why you are now able to read these lines and see these pictures.

But the wind is still battering the windows which face the northeast. So who knows, maybe we are not out of the woods yet. But thank God for small mercies. Aloha!

 

 

Leave a Reply

