RUN/WALK FOR WHALES

A whale of a day! Or at least the start of it…

img_0937

RUN/WALK FOR WHALES

Just got back from a fundraising event – Run/Walk for Whales – at Maalaea Harbor. The start of the race, or walk – one’s choice – was at predawn. Yet probably more than a thousand people were already at the starting line.

I am not a morning person. So the hardest part for me was getting up before dawn and then driving half an hour to Maalaea. But it was worth it. Not just to help the whales. It was magnificent watching the sun break through the mist and rise over the Haleakala volcano during the event. I could not take my eyes off it.

No wonder the ancient Hawaiians named this volcano Home of the Sun (that’s what Haleakala means in Hawaiian).

Here are just some shots for now to whet your appetite.

I got to the START line at 7:20. Which is when my race/walk category was supposed to start. But most of the runners and walkers had already left. It was cold by Maui standards in the predawn hour. Only 58F. So I supposed people were anxious to get going.

But the cold did not discourage the youngest runners with whom I also started this race/walk – as a “caboose” in the adult category. 🙂

But it did not take me long to catch up. Stopping to take these pictures set me back again. And so it went, back and forth.

SCENES FROM THE COURSE

What was really neat about this event was seeing the people of all different ages and sizes hoofing around the course to help the whales. At the same time, they were helping themselves.

In the end, everybody got on the same page – back where we started.

Sun rising over its home

Notice the green orb hovering under my right hand?

SPLASH IN THE OCEAN

The organizers offered the participants a free breakfast. I did not bother checking to see what it was. The crowd was just too big for me. Instead, I jumped in my car and drove to the nearest beach for a splash in the ocean.

It was another first for me. I don’t think I ever got to the beach and into the ocean so early in the morning. But the place was bustling with activities – fishing, big (Hawaiian) canoe paddling, sailing …  an entirely different lifestyle from ours at the Rainbow Shower in Haiku.

Native Hawaiians have the proper words for it. The upcountry areas on the mountain where we live are called MAUKA. Those near the ocean are called MAKAI. Today, I got to experience both.

I also came home with this T-shirt which all participants in this event received from the Pacific Whale Foundation as a memento.

Also, while on the beach, I saw a bunch of shells discarded near the wooden guardrail. It reminded me of the many times Elizabeth had been hunting for shells in Hawaii, mostly unsuccessfully. So I took a picture of it for her.

UPDATE FEB 5, 2017

RETURN TO MAALAEA: A YIN-YANG EXPERIENCE

After finished some errands in town this afternoon, I was guided to go back to Maalaea, where yesterday we held the Maui Run/Walk for Whales fundraiser in the predawn hours.  Perhaps it was the strong winds we’ve been experiencing today.

Normally, we get trade winds from the northeast. Today, however, we are experiencing strong “anti-trade” winds from the southwest.

No, this is not a political anti-TPP statement. 🙂 But who knows, it could be. You never know what Mother Nature has up her sleeve.
 

In any event, Maalaea is on the west side of Maui, opposite from the north shore ocean scenery I normally share with you. Which means that today, these strong winds would be coming off there straight off the ocean with nothing in between.

So while millions in America were watching a gladiator sport event, this is what I kept my eyes peeled on.

I think that maybe that’s what I wanted to feel – the ocean spray hitting my face by these almost gale-force winds. And I got that. But what I did no bargain for are some beautiful ocean beach scenes.

It was the same beach on which I took a splash yesterday morning after the Whale event. It was a calm, serene, almost dreamy scene with the mist rising from the ocean. A true YIN.

yin-yang-2-feb-4-5yin-yang-feb-4-5

Today, the ocean was wild and woolly. And the strong wind made it feel like a real YANG experience, especially in parts where it was blowing the sand across the road like like gales off the Sahara dunes.

img_0989

Here are some pictures so you can judge it for yourself.

Leave a Reply

