DAY 6, MAY 30: FANTOM HOT CHOCOLATE INSPIRES IMPROMPTU TRIP TO OXFORD

From London, England

DAY 6, MAY 30: FANTOM HOT CHOCOLATE INSPIRES IMPROMPTU TRIP TO OXFORD

We rarely make any trip plans during our travels. Except when reservations are required, of course. We let our spirit guides do that. As a result, we often surprise ourselves by the turn of events. What happened on our last full day in England – May 30 – was a case in point.

Last night, while we were watching one of the Inspector Lewis or Morse mystery movies, which takes place in Oxford, Elizabeth said she wished she could have again the hot chocolate we had there a few years ago.

I did not say anything, just stored her comment somewhere deep in my memory recesses for a possible later recall.

That happened this morning (May 30).

“What would you like to do today?” I asked Elizabeth.

“I don’t know,” she replied, as usual, leaving the initiative to me.

“How about we go to Oxford again?” I suggested. “And you can have again your hot chocolate there.”

Her face lit up with joy. “Let’s,” she said.

And so it was written. And done.

We took the tube to the Paddington Station, and a train from there to Oxford.  We arrived just in time for the convergence of the local luncheon crowds and the hoards of tourists. Undaunted, we strolled through the city which we felt we now knew quite well (we were there last in 2010 (see Ploughman’s Lunch in Oxford, Oct 2010 – http://yinyangbob.com/Europe2010/Oxford.htm), and I had been to Oxford several times before that).

As we elbowed our way through the crowds, we were taking in some old and new sights.

One of them was that house whose facade is covered with ivy. I remembered taking a picture of it from the same spot 7 years ago. But I just shook my head in disbelief that we were able to find that one house in the entire city of Oxford. Without a map.

“Spirit guidance. That’s the only explanation,” I muttered to myself.

IMG_1849

Back at the University at Oxford, we visited again the familiar venues. And then I took Elizabeth to the coffee shop where I thought she had that famous hot chocolate.

WRONG BRITISH UNIVERSITY

In the meantime, she had lost her appetite for it. Worse, she sheepishly admitted that this was not the place where she had that fabulous drink.

“That was in Cambridge, in front of the King’s College Chapel,” she said (see http://yinyangbob.com/NY-UK-2013/Cambridge.html).

And I agreed. I also remember enjoying it there with her in Feb 2013.”Oh well,” I joked. “Cambridge, Oxford… what’s the difference?” 🙂

I suspect that any of the two famous British university grads were with us, I would have been struck dead instantly by both. Because they are fierce rivals with equally fearsome pride in their schools.

Anyway, Elizabeth and I had a good laugh about that phantom hot chocolate which inspired us to undertake this day trip to Oxford.

We finished out stroll through Oxford with a visit to its Natural History Museum. No “ploughman’s lunch” this time. Once was enough. 🙂

One Reply to “DAY 6, MAY 30: FANTOM HOT CHOCOLATE INSPIRES IMPROMPTU TRIP TO OXFORD”

Leave a Reply

