DAY 12, JUNE 5: GRANADA-MADRID VIENNA FLIGHT, SURPRISE BIRTHDAY DINNER UPON ARRIVAL

From Vienna, Austria

GREETINGS FROM VIENNA!

Surprise birthday dinner, cake and gifts from my grandchildren

Elizabeth and I arrived in Vienna this evening (June 5) from Granada via Madrid to a wonderful welcome by my family.

My Austrian son-in-law met us at the airport to help me navigate our rental car through the maze Vienna streets to the restaurant in their suburban neighborhood which they had booked for our first family dinner.

It was a beautiful setting in the Vienna Woods (which inspired Johann Strauss to write the “Geschichten aus dem Wienerwald” (Tales from the Vienna Woods) – https://youtu.be/qEbUL6uARwI).

Little did we know that they were planning a birthday surprise for me after the dinner.

The restaurant hosts arrived with a big flaming chocolate and strawberry cake whose recipe originated in Styria (German: Steiermark) province of Austria. And my 3 younger grandchildren presented me with an enormous birthday card the two girls had made, and a wonderful pottery gift that my 9-year granddaughter made herself (I blurred the faces of my Austrian grandkids’ faces to protect their privacy).

IMG_2781

It could not have bene a nicer surprise after most of the day in crowded airplanes. And learning upon arrival in Vienna that Iberia (Spanish airline) had left my bag in Madrid.

Much to the surprise of the baggage agents where I claimed the missing bag, I exclaimed upon learning that it was MY bag that was lost, “Oh, I am SO GLAD that you lost my suitcase. It would have been a much bigger problem if you had lost my wife’s bag.” 🙂

Anyway, all is well that ends well. Iberia promised to deliver my bag to our hotel this afternoon. And what a beautiful setting we woke up to at our hotel this morning. Take a look at the scene outside our window.

IMG_2142

One Reply to “DAY 12, JUNE 5: GRANADA-MADRID VIENNA FLIGHT, SURPRISE BIRTHDAY DINNER UPON ARRIVAL”

Leave a Reply

