DAYS 26-27, JUNE 19-20: BACK IN VIENNA, RECONNECTING WITH SACHER TORTE, STRAUSS

 Vienna, Austria Austria flag

BACK IN VIENNA

Elizabeth and I drove into Vienna this afternoon to complete our “Cruise Down the Danube on Four Wheels.” And also on two boats, not to mention the visits to Salzburg, the Adriatic, two magnificent lakes (Plitvice in Croatia and Wörthersee in Austria), and the enormous cave complex in Postojna, Slovenia.

This afternoon, we returned our faithful “horse,” a VW rental car, that took us to all these places. We thanked God for helping us navigate through all these places safely and without injury to the car or ourselves.

And then we celebrated the completion of our journey at the Sacher hotel, right across the Vienna Opera building. Elizabeth had their famous Sacher Torte while I enjoyed the delicious Eiß Schokolade (ice chocolate).

unnamed-2

Tomorrow, we plan to attend our last concert in Vienna and come back to the Mozart Cafe, also across the Vienna Opera for a late evening dinner.

June 20, 2017

History of Neustift am Walde is a story of wine and music… and roses

DAY 27, June 20 – OUR LITTLE WALK REVEALS JOHANN STRASS WROTE HIS FIRST WALTZ HERE

Our little walk up the hill and through the vineyards behind our country inn in Neustift am Walde revealed some of its history which is hidden from ordinary tourists.

IMG_2735

This is where vineyards have graced the hills of Wiener Wald (Vienna Woods) since the time of the Roman Empire.

This is also where the young Johann Strauss lived with his family between 1829 and 1832. And this is where he wrote his first waltz (see Johann Strauss II. – Geschichten aus dem Wiener Wald (Stories from Vienna Woods – https://youtu.be/poAb0MhEvmk).

Interestingly, on this trip, this music was playing constantly in my Third Ear without me understanding why. I just intuitively figured it was Strauss’ Stories from Vienna Woods.

I also had a revelation that Johann Strauss II may have been another past incarnation of my father Jovan.

PS: I’ve translated from German the first plaque which includes the Strauss reference. For the other two, well, you’ll have to learn a little German. 🙂

And now, here’s my own recording of Strauss’ Stories from Vienna Woods which I made upon our return home (July 5, 2017):

STORIES FROM VIENNA WOODS

I don’t know when in my youth I must have first heard Johann Strauss’ “Geschichte aus dem Wiener Wald” (Stories from Vienna Woods). But the music came alive again during our stay in Vienna, especially in the neighborhood of Neustift am Walde.

As Elizabeth is my witness, ever since we got to Vienna on June 5, and settled in our wonderful country inn in Vienna woods and vineyards, I just could not stop hearing practically Johann Strauss’ wonderful waltz “Stories from Vienna Woods.” It has been with me practically 24/7. Even when I wake up at night, I find myself creating my new arrangement on a Clavinova.

So for the last several weeks, I have been trying to reconstruct this waltz from memory, without using any sheet music. And last night (July 5), I recorded my own version of it, including a new orchestration which is a little different from that originally ascribed to Johann Strauss. But the core and the spirit of the piece is the same.
Continue reading

Stories from Vienna Woods – by Altzar – a film by Bob Altzar Djurdjevic – music and orchestral arrangements by ALTZAR, performed and recorded on a Clavinova on July 5, 2017 in Scottsdale, Arizona – original score by Johann Strauss II

 

One Reply to “DAYS 26-27, JUNE 19-20: BACK IN VIENNA, RECONNECTING WITH SACHER TORTE, STRAUSS”

Leave a Reply

