DAY 27, JUNE 20: GRAND FINAL CONCERT AT THE MAGNIFICENT SAINT PETER’S CHURCH

Vienna, Austria

GRAND FINAL CONCERT AT THE MAGNIFICENT ST PETER’S CHURCH IN THE MUSIC CAPITAL OF THE WORLD DELIGHTS OUR HEARTS AND SOULS

Our farewell concert in the music capital of the world could not have been better if I had scripted it myself. Instead, my spirit guides arranged both the venue and the program in such a perfect way that they brought tears to my eyes.

I have been to Vienna many times before. I have even lived here for a while in my lifetimes as Franz Liszt and Jacques Ferdinand Devereaux, a friend of Mozart with whom I collaborated on alchemical nature of music. But I have never been before in this lifetime to the magnificent St Peter’s church in the heart of Vienna.

Just the other day, Elizabeth and I walked around it several times as we were looking for a bank in which to change our money. Yet I never realized then that this was to be the venue of our final concert on this visit to Vienna.

FABULOUS CONCERT

And what a fabulous concert it was. A string quartet of outstanding young musicians chose the music of Mozart, Vivaldi, Bach, Schubert, Haydn and Brahms for the June 20 program that played right into my heart and soul.

I actually play and have recorded myself four of the eight pieces (by Mozart, Vivaldi, Bach and Brahms – see the program image). That’s why I had tears in my eyes. Because I realized that we were guided to this place at this time of the June Solstice by invisible Divine threads.

This was reconfirmed both at the beginning and at the end of the concert.

At the beginning, because – just like three years ago at the Musikverein Mozart concert – we were given front row center seats, only 10 ft (3m) away from the musicians.

STEPS AWAY FROM MOZART’S HOME

At the end, because after a long applause by the enchanted crowd the musicians returned for an encore. The cello player, Thomas-Michael Auner, remained standing after the applause died down. He then spoke first in German then in English.

He said they were especially honored to perform Mozart’s music at this magnificent church because Mozart lived “only a few meters away” from it. The famous composer lived at Domgasse 5 from 1784 till 1787. These were the happiest years of his life. Mozart was at the pinnacle of career. This is where he composed many of his famous works, including the “Marriage of Figaro” opera (see Mozarthaus Vienna –https://www.wien.info/en/music-stage-shows/city-of-music/mozarthaus).

I did not know that. Which means I (as Jacques Ferdinand Devereaux) must have also lived nearby in the 1780s. I do not have such a particular recollection but everything about this area of Vienna has always felt like home to me. And now I know why.

Here are some pictures from our last night’s outing, including our final evening walk around downtown Vienna, and a dinner at the Mozart Cafe near the State Opera House.

One Reply to “DAY 27, JUNE 20: GRAND FINAL CONCERT AT THE MAGNIFICENT SAINT PETER’S CHURCH”

Leave a Reply

